Board of Directors

The MUSIC Board of Directors consists of ten members elected by the general membership for three overlapping terms. Board members are geographically distributed across the state and are representative of small, medium, and large schools districts, with one community college representative.

Current Board Members

Dr. Phillip Cook, Chairman

Carl Junction R-I
206 S. Roney
Carl Junction, MO 64834
(417) 649-7026

Dr. Cook has been Superintendent of Schools for Carl Junction School District since 2004. Dr. Cook spent 3 years as Assistant Superintendent with Carl Junction School District prior to being named the District’s Superintendent. Dr. Cook serves on many boards, such as Missouri Special Olympics, Joplin Basketball Officials Association and is the Treasurer of the Board of Southwest Center for Educational Excellence.


Mrs. Jenny Ulrich, Vice-Chairman

Lonedell R-14 School District
7466 Highway FF
Lonedell, MO 63060

Mrs. Ulrich has been Superintendent of the Lonedell R-14 School District since 2013. Lonedell R-14 is one of many K-8 school districts in Missouri. During her educational career, Mrs. Ulrich has fulfilled the role of Classroom Teacher, Specialized Reading Teacher, Volleyball and Basketball Coach, Assistant Principal and Principal. Mrs. Ulrich has held various leadership roles throughout her career in regional and statewide educational committees/organizations. She currently serves on the Commissioner’s Advisory Council, as well as the MSIP 6 Advisory Committee.


Dr. Tracy Bottoms, Secretary

Montgomery Co. R-II School District
418 N. Hwy. 19
Montgomery City, MO 63361-5217
573-564-2278 X 7003

Dr. Bottoms started as Superintendent in the Montgomery School District in 2020.  Mr. Bottoms began his career in education in 1996.  Dr. Bottoms has also been an Athletic Director, HS Assistant Principal, and HS Principal.  Dr. Bottoms currently serves on the MASA Executive Board, and has held other leaderships roles in local and regional Superintendent groups.  Prior to becoming an administrator, Dr. Bottoms taught Physical Education, Health, and Drivers Education.  Dr. Bottoms also spent several years refereeing basketball and coaching basketball, track, and football.


Mrs. Mary Jo Gruber, Treasurer

Pattonville R-III
11097 St. Charles Rock Rd.
St. Ann, MO 63074
(314) 213-8005

Mrs. Gruber serves as the Chief Financial Officer for the Pattonville School District. She began her career in education in 1998. Mrs. Gruber has served in the roles of Director of Finance and Chief Financial Officer. Mrs. Gruber is the current President of the Missouri Association of School Business Officials, a Trustee for the CSD Retirement Trust, and also serves on numerous committees, including the MoASBO Legislative Committee. She is a Certified Public Accountant and a Certified Administrator of School Operations through the International Association of School Business Officials.


Missouri United School Insurance Council (MUSIC) Board of Directors Chairman, Dr. Bernard DuBray.

Dr. Bernard DuBray, Director

Fort Zumwalt R-II
110 Virgil St
O’Fallon, MO 63366
(636) 240-2072

Dr. DuBray has been Superintendent of the Fort Zumwalt School District since 1985. He has been in education as a teacher, principal, Assistant Superintendent and Superintendent for a total of 54 years. Fort Zumwalt is the largest school district in St. Charles County with over 17,000 students.


Mr. Todd Galbierz, Director

St. Charles Community College
4601 Mid Rivers Mall Dr.
Cottleville, MO 63376
(636) 922-8359

Mr. Galbierz has been Vice President for Administrative Services at St. Charles Community College (SCC) since 2008. He serves the college as the Chief Financial Officer and is also responsible for facilities, construction, public safety, information technology, food service, and bookstore. Mr. Galbierz also teaches accounting as an adjunct instructor at SCC. Prior to joining the college, he served in leadership roles in municipal government and private industry. Mr. Galbierz is very active with community college professional organizations, especially the Missouri Community College Association.


Dr. Chris Wilson, Director

Kennett #39
1400 West Washington
Kennett MO, 63857

Dr. Wilson has been serving at Kennet since 2001. He has been the Superintendent of Schools since 2010. Dr. Wilson is an ASAA and MSHSAA board member,  a Southeast Region MASA  Executive Committee Member, and coached baseball, basketball and football when he was a teacher and athletic director at Portageville School District from 1997 to 2001, where he taught science and physical education. Dr. Wilson is husband to Danielle, and proud father to twin girls Lillianna and Isabella.


Dr. Jeff Blackford, Director

Nodaway-Holt R-VII School District
Graham, MO 64455
(660) 939-2137

Dr. Blackford began serving as Superintendent at Nodaway-Holt School District in 2017. Prior to Nodaway-Holt, Dr. Blackford was Superintendent at Rich Hill School District and Chilhowee School District. As an adjunct professor, Dr. Blackford teaches School Finance, Buildings and Equipment, and Superintendency for Northwest Missouri State University. He is a member of the Missouri Association of School Administrators, Graham Lions Club, and Missouri Elks.


Mr. Matt Unger, Director

Morgan Co. R-I School District
701 N. Oak Street
Stover, Missouri 65078
573-377-2217 X229

Mr. Unger has been Superintendent of Morgan County R-1 School District since the 2014-15 school Year. He previously has served as Superintendent at Otterville R-VI School District (3 Years), Middle School Principal at Morgan County R-2 (7 years), Assistant Principal at Gasconade County R-11 (5 years), and as a classroom teacher and coach (5 years). Mr. Unger is a MASA member (West Central President for 22-23) and is currently a board member for the Ozark Schools Benefit Association and the Morgan County Health Center. 


Dr. David Buck, Director

Lee’s Summit R-VII School District
301 NE Tudor Rd.
Lee’s Summit, Missouri 64086

Dr. David Buck has served as superintendent for the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District since July 1, 2020. Dr. Buck started his tenure in Lee’s Summit R-7 Schools after serving as superintendent of the Wright City R-II School District near St. Louis. Dr. Buck joined the district near St. Louis in 2008 to serve as assistant superintendent before becoming superintendent in 2015. A student of science, Dr. Buck worked as a forestry research technician and field botanist prior to beginning a 26-year career in public education. However, his love of science and passion for engaging with people propelled him into public education. He started in education as a science teacher in the Fatima School District and then worked as a high school principal.